Latin American Football Leagues

This is a record of Latin American Gridiron (American Football) Leagues. American Football is known as Football Americano, or just simply Football, in Latin America, as opposed to Futbol, which is the Spanish name for Soccer.

The sport was first played in Mexico in the late 19th Century, and leagues first started appearing in Mexico in the 1940s. In the 2000s the first Kitted American Football Leagues started in Argentina and Brazil, and are now played everywhere in Latin America.

Major Mexican American Football Leagues:

Liga Futbol Americano (Mexico) 2016-2019

Liga Football Americano (Mexico) (Seasons): 2016 2019 2020

AAA Mexican American Football Leagues:

Futbol Americano de Mexico 2019-Present

Futbol Americano (Mexico) Asociacion 2014-2016

Futbol Americano de Mexico (Seasons): 2020 2019

Mexican College American Football

Mexican College Bowls:

Tazon Azteca (Aztec Bowl – Mexican v US American Football) 1947-Present

Organizacion Nacional Estudiantil de Futbol Americano (ONEFA Mexico) | Campeones Nacional de Liga Mayor 1933-2017

Note: As Mexico is so big on American Football it has its own section: For more on Mexican American Football Leagues (Including Professional, College and State Leagues) see: Mexican American Football Leagues


Liga Asociacion Guatemalteca de Football Americano (Overviews):

Asociacion Guatemalteca de Football Americano 2015-2017


Campeonato Estadiaus (State Championships)

Amazonas Campeonato Amazonense (Seasons): 2019

Candango (Goias-Brasilia) Campeonato Candango (Seasons): 2019

Santa Catarina Campeonato Catarinense (Seasons): 2020

Carioca (Rio de Janeiro) Campeonato Carioca de Futebol Americano (Seasons): 2019

Gaucho (Rio Grande do Sul) Campeonato Gaucho de Futebol Americano (Seasons): 2020

Mato-Grosseto Campeonato Mato-Grossense de Football Americano (Seasons): 2018

Paulista (Sao Paulo) Sao Paulo Football League Diamond Series (Seasons): 2019

Mineiro (Minas Gerais) Minas Gerais Football League (Seasons): 2020


Football Americano Argentina Liga Mayor (Overviews):

Football Americano Argentina Liga Mayor 2012-2019